Wed|SNES|Day Week #22: Free Comic Book Day

A time of year better than Christmas!I’m sorry for another short post, but I’m sure you understand the time restrains. Free Comic Book day is a day in which companies like DC and Marvel can advertise their summer stories and future projects, via a “free” comic book. So it’s a big advertisement in the form of a comic. Smart. However, there’s an upside to this, as most comic shops will have specials and deals (and women! Wah!) So it’s a good reason to cosplay and head over to your LCS, if you don’t have any plans. And while you’re at it, why not check out Amazing Spider-Man 2? Out this weekend. And finally, let’s not forget May 4th is Intergalactic Star Wars day! Brush off those old VHS tapes, or the DVD’s, Blu Ray’s or the HD Torrent Files, doesn’t matter, just make sure to watch them with family, friends, your right hand, it really doesn’t matter, watch them.

It looks like this is going to be one busy weekend. If you’re not too into the social setting, pick up some comics this week. Amazing Spider-Man #1 just came out, and there’s a sweet bonus story of Inhumans #1 in there as well! Charles Soule sure knows how to write ’em! Oh and I did promise my quick thoughts to DC’s new solicitations, so here goes:

Teen Titans looks promising. I’m a huge fan of Raven and I’m hopeful they can do something new, weird and mind bending with this character. There’s some uproar about the art, but I love it, and I really don’t see what the big deal is. Lobdell might not be any good at writing Teen Titans, but he’s pretty good at writing Red Hood and the Outlaws! I’m glad to see him back on this project, and so does he. I wish Catwoman got a new writer though. The New Suicide Squad looks like the Old Suicide Squad, so I’ll just hold my tongue until I see more. Future’s End is coming up really soon, and there’s all the “confirmed” issues for September, they look really interesting, especially Swamp Thing’s issue. Speaking of weekly comics, an Earth 2 weekly is launching and I’m real excited for that. Fans have been wanting more of Earth 2, and I feel like big things are coming from this. As a trade waiter, the wait is ALREADY killing me. I cannot wait to read this, or the other two weekly series coming out. All in all, DC is finally doing things right (please get a new writer for Catwoman), and although there’s nothing too over the top, or super sensational going on, it’s nice to know they’re doing what the fans are asking, and they are listening.

Leave a comment